History Of The Intesa Sanpaolo Next Gen ATP Finals

The award-winning Intesa Sanpaolo Next Gen ATP Finals, which was first established in 2017, features the best seven qualified 21-and-under players of the season, plus one local wild card, in Milan. The event showcases a series of rule changes and innovations aimed at creating a high-tempo, cutting-edge and TV-friendly product that are geared towards attracting new and new and younger fans into the sport, while at the same time retaining the sport’s traditional fan-base. Played on a singles-only court, there are shorter format matches — first to four games sets (Tie-Break at 3-All), best-of-five sets, with no-Ad scoring — electronic line-calling 'Hawk-Eye Live', a no-let rule, player coaching and ‘free movement’ policy to enable fans to move freely in and out of the stadium. The tournament takes place over five days, with two round robin groups, followed by the semi-finals and final.



Hyeon Chung captured the inaugural title over Andrey Rublev in 2017, with Karen Khachanov, Denis Shapovalov, Borna Coric, Jared Donaldson, Daniil Medvedev and Italian wild card Gianluigi Quinzi also competing at the Fiera Milano.


Tsitsipas, De Minaur

Stefanos Tsitsipas won five straight matches in 2018 and captured the trophy over Alex de Minaur in the final. Frances Tiafoe, Taylor Fritz, Andrey Rublev, Jaume Munar, Hubert Hurkacz and Liam Caruana also competed. Twelve months later, Tsitsipas clinched the 2019 Nitto ATP Finals crown.


Jannik Sinner

Jannik Sinner delighted fans at the Allianz Cloud in Milan by bouncing back from losing a round-robin match against Ugo Humbert en route to the 2019 final, where he beat Alex de Minaur. Frances Tiafoe, Casper Ruud, Miomir Kecmanovic, Mikael Ymer and Alejandro Davidovich Fokina also featured.


Carlos Alcaraz
Carlos Alcaraz finished his breakthrough 2021 season in style by beating Sebastian Korda. The 18-year-old was the youngest player to earn 32 tour-level victories in a year since Andrei Medvedev, 18, in 1992. Lorenzo Musetti, Brandon Nakashima, Juan Manuel Cerundolo, Sebastian Baez, Holger Rune and Hugo Gaston also played.